UEFA Cup Winners Cup Winners

CF Classics Logo

CUP WINNERS' CUP 1961-1999

UEFA Cup Winners Cup Logo

Atlético Madrid crest
Tottenham Hotspur crest
Sporting Lisbon
West Ham United crest
Borussia Dortmund crest
Bayern Munich crest
Milan crest
Slovan Bratislava

Manchester City crest
Chelsea crest
Milan crest
1. FC Magdeburg crest
Dinamo Kyiv
Anderlecht crest
Hamburger SV crest
Anderlecht crest
Barcelona crest

Valencia crest
Dinamo Tbilisi
Barcelona crest
Juventus crest
Everton crest
Dinamo Kyiv
KV Mechelen
Barcelona crest

Sampdoria crest
Manchester United crest
Werder Bremen crest
Parma crest
Arsenal crest
Zaragoza crest
Paris Saint-Germain
Barcelona crest
Chelsea crest
Lazio crest

While the old European Cup and UEFA Cup both still exist in the guise of the Champions League and the Europa League, UEFA ended the UEFA Cup Winners Cup in 1999, a shame given how many decent finals it produced back in its heyday. As the name suggests, the competition was only open to teams across Europe who'd won their domestic cup competition in the previous season.

The nature of cup competitions, that they tend to throw up more surprise winners than league formats do, meant that the UEFA Cup Winners Cup was often full of more unusual clubs than the European Cup or the UEFA Cup. It also meant that no single club tended to dominate the competition. So, even though Barcelona were the UEFA Cup Winners Cup's most successful club, lifting the trophy four times, only four other clubs won the competition more than once: Anderlecht, Milan, Chelsea and Dynamo Kiev. In classic cup tradition, there were then a whole array of different clubs who won the UEFA Cup Winners Cup once, from traditional footballing giants of Europe, such as Bayern Munich, Juventus and Ajax, through to smaller clubs such as KV Mechelen, 1. FC Magdeburg, Dinamo Tbilisi and Slovan Bratislava.


Season Winner Runner-up Score
1998-99Lazio               RCD Mallorca         2:1
1997-98Chelsea             VfB Stuttgart       1:0
1996-97Barcelona       Paris Saint-Germain 1:0
1995-96Paris Saint-Germain Rapid Vienna 1:0
1994-95Zaragoza       Arsenal             2:1 aet
1993-94Arsenal             Parma               1:0
1992-93Parma               Royal Antwerp       3:1
1991-92Werder Bremen       Monaco           2:0
1990-91Manchester United   Barcelona         2:1
1989-90Sampdoria       Anderlecht       2:0 aet
1988-89Barcelona    Sampdoria           2:0
1987-88KV Mechelen         Ajax                 1:0
1986-87Ajax                Lokomotive Leipzig 1:0
1985-86Dinamo Kyiv         Atlético Madrid     3:0
1984-85Everton             Rapid Vienna 3:1
1983-84Juventus            FC Porto             2:1
1982-83Aberdeen            Real Madrid         2:1 aet
1981-82Barcelona        Standard Liège 2:1
1980-81Dinamo Tbilisi      Carl Zeiss Jena     2:1
1979-80Valencia            Arsenal             0:0 (5:4 pens)
1978-79Barcelona        Fortuna Düsseldorf   4:3 aet
1977-78Anderlecht      Austria/WAC         4:0
1976-77Hamburger SV        Anderlecht       2:0
1975-76Anderlecht      West Ham United     4:0
1974-75Dinamo Kyiv         Ferencváros         3:0
1973-74 1. FC Magdeburg    Milan             2:0
1972-73Milan               Leeds United         1:0
1971-72Rangers             Dinamo Moskva       3:2
1970-71Chelsea             Real Madrid      1:1 (2:1 in replay)
1969-70Manchester City     Górnik Zabrze    2:1
1968-69Slovan Bratislava   Barcelona     3:2
1967-68Milan               Hamburger SV     2:0
1966-671. FC Köln   Rangers          1:0
1965-66Borussia Dortmund   Liverpool        2:1
1964-65West Ham United     1860 Munich 2:0
1963-64Sporting Lisbon MTK Budapest 3:3 (1:0 in replay)
1962-63Tottenham Hotspur   Atlético Madrid  5:1
1961-62Atlético Madrid     Fiorentina       1:1 (3:0 in replay)
1960-61Fiorentina         Rangers          2:0 (1st leg)
1960-61Fiorentina         Rangers          2:1 (2nd leg)