CF Classics Small Logo

The Golden Boot is awarded to the top goal-scorer at each European Championships tournament.

Some great names have won it in the past, but it's Michel Platini's nine goals in five matches back in 1984 that make him the standout name on the list. No matter what happened to Platini after his football career ended, it's a great statistic and one of the great tournament performances in world football.


Year Top Scorer Country Goals
2016 France Antoine Griezmann France 6
2012 Poland/Ukraine Alan Dzagoev Russia 3
Cristiano Ronaldo Portugal 3
Fernando Torres Spain 3
Mario Balotelli Italy 3
Mario Gómez Germany 3
Mario Mandžukic Croatia 3
2008 Austria/Switzerland David Villa Spain 4
2004 Portugal Milan Baroš Czech Republic 5
2000 Belgium/Holland Patrick Kluivert Netherlands 5
Savo Miloševic Yugoslavia 5
1996 England Alan Shearer England 5
1992 Sweden Dennis Bergkamp Netherlands 3
Tomas Brolin Sweden 3
Henrik Larsen Sweden 3
Karl-Heinz Riedle Germany 3
1988 West Germany Marco van Basten Netherlands 5
1984 France Michel Platini France 9
1980 Italy Klaus Allofs West Germany 3
1976 Yugoslavia Dieter Müller West Germany 4
1972 Belgium Gerd Müller West Germany 4
1968 Italy Dragan Džajic Yugoslavia 2
1964 Spain Ferenc Bene Hungary 2
Dezso Novák Hungary 2
Jesús María Pereda Spain 2
1960 France Valentin Ivanov Soviet Union 2
Viktor Ponedelnik Soviet Union 2
Milan Galic Yugoslavia 2
Dražan Jerkovic Yugoslavia 2
François Heutte France 2