Venezuela Football League Winners

CF Classics Logo


Venezuala Football League Logo

Estudiantes de Mérida
Deportivo Táchira
San Cristóbal
Universidad de Los Andes
Deportivo Táchira
Estudiantes de Mérida
Deportivo Táchira

Universidad de Los Andes
Caracas crest
Caracas crest
Caracas crest
Caracas crest
Atlético Zulia
Deportivo Italchacao

Deportivo Táchira
Caracas crest
Nacional Táchira
Caracas crest
Caracas crest
Caracas crest
Caracas crest
Deportivo Táchira
Caracas crest

Caracas crest
Deportivo Táchira
Deportivo Lara
Deportivo Táchira
Caracas crest

Deportivo La Guaira

The latest Venezuelan Primera División season, 2020, was won by Deportivo La Guaira. Deportivo La Guaira had previously won the Copa Venezuela twice, in 2014 and 2015, but had never won the league. The season had been suspended in March, because of the COVID-19 pandemic, and didn't resume until October, albeit with a new format so that they could have the competition finished by mid-December. The new format saw the original league split into two groups, with the winners of each group meeting in a final. Deportivo La Guaira won Group A by one point from Deportivo Lara, whilst Deportivo Táchira just held off reigning champions Caracas by a single point to top Group B. Deportivo La Guaira then beat Deportivo Táchira 2:0 in the final, played at a neutral stadium in Valencia.

The Venezuelan Primera División (in Spanish, Primera División de Venezuela) is the top tier of the Venezuelan football league. It was formed as an amateur league back in 1921 but turned professional in 1957.

Caracas FC, based in the capital city, are the league's most successful club, ahead of Deportivo Táchira.

Whilst it remains one of the lesser known leagues in South America, and the political unrest in recent years has made things even harder for the clubs and supporters, let's hope the rise in Venezuelan football culture will one day see some of its clubs challenging in the latter stages of the Copa Libertadores and Copa Sudamericana.


Year Winner Runner-up
2020 Deportivo La Guaira Deportivo Táchira
2019 Caracas Estudiantes de Mérida
2018 Zamora Deportivo Lara
2017 Monagas Deportivo Lara
2016 Zamora Zulia
2015 Zamora Deportivo La Guaira
2014-15 Deportivo Táchira Trujillanos
2013-14 Zamora Mineros
2012-13 Zamora Deportivo Anzoátegui
2011-12 Deportivo Lara Caracas
2010-11 Deportivo Táchira Zamora
2009-10 Caracas Deportivo Táchira
2008-09 Caracas Deportivo Italia
2007-08 Deportivo Táchira Caracas
2006-07 Caracas Maracaibo
2005-06 Caracas Maracaibo
2004-05 Maracaibo Caracas
2003-04 Caracas Deportivo Táchira
2002-03 Caracas Maracaibo
2001-02 Nacional Táchira Estudiantes de Mérida
2000-01 Caracas Trujillanos
1999-00 Deportivo Táchira Deportivo Italchacao
1998-99 Deportivo Italchacao Unión Atlético Táchira
1997-98 Atlético Zulia Estudiantes de Mérida
1996-97 Caracas Atlético Zulia
1995-96 Minervén Mineros
1994-95 Caracas Minervén
1993-94 Caracas Trujillanos
1992-93 Marítimo Minervén
1991-92 Caracas Minervén
1990-91 Universidad de Los Andes Marítimo
1989-90 Marítimo Unión Atlético Táchira
1988-89 Mineros Pepeganga Margarita
1987-88 Marítimo Unión Atlético Táchira
1986-87 Marítimo Unión Atlético Táchira
1986 Deportivo Táchira Estudiantes de Mérida
1985 Estudiantes de Mérida Deportivo Táchira
1984 Deportivo Táchira Deportivo Italia
1983 Universidad de Los Andes Portuguesa
1982 San Cristóbal Deportivo Táchira
1981 Deportivo Táchira Estudiantes de Mérida
1980 Estudiantes de Mérida Portuguesa
1979 Deportivo Táchira Deportivo Galicia
1978 Portuguesa Deportivo Galicia
1977 Portuguesa Estudiantes de Mérida
1976 Portuguesa Estudiantes de Mérida
1975 Portuguesa Estudiantes de Mérida
1974 Deportivo Galicia Portuguesa
1973 Portuguesa Valencia
1972 Deportivo Italia Deportivo Galicia
1971 Valencia Deportivo Italia
1970 Deportivo Galicia Deportivo Italia
1969 Deportivo Galicia Valencia
1968 Unión Deportiva Canarias Deportivo Italia
1967 Deportivo Portugués Deportivo Galicia
1966 Deportivo Italia Deportivo Portugués
1965 Lara Deportivo Italia
1964 Deportivo Galicia Tiquire Flores
1963 Deportivo Italia Deportivo Portugués
1962 Deportivo Portugués Universidad Central
1961 Deportivo Italia Banco Agrícola y Pecuario
1960 Deportivo Portugués Deportivo Español
1959 Deportivo Español Deportivo Portugués
1958 Deportivo Portugués Deportivo Español
1957 Universidad Central La Salle
1956 Banco Obrero La Salle
1955 La Salle Deportivo Español
1954 Vasco Loyola
1953 Universidad Central La Salle
1952 La Salle Loyola
1951 Universidad Central Loyola
1950 Unión La Salle
1949 Dos Caminos Universidad Central
1948 Loyola Unión
1947 Unión Universidad Central
1946 Deportivo Español Centro Atlético
1945 Dos Caminos Loyola
1944 Loyola Dos Caminos
1943 Loyola Litoral
1942 Dos Caminos Loyola
1941 Litoral Dos Caminos
1940 Unión Dos Caminos
1939 Unión Litoral
1938 Dos Caminos Litoral
1937 Dos Caminos Litoral
1936 Dos Caminos Centro Atlético
1935 Unión Dos Caminos
1934 Unión Dos Caminos
1933 Deportivo Venezuela Dos Caminos
1932 Unión Dos Caminos
1931 Deportivo Venezuela Centro Atlético
1930 Centro Atlético Unión
1929 Deportivo Venezuela Unión
1928 Deportivo Venezuela Centro Atlético
1927 Venzóleo Centro Atlético
1926 Centro Atlético Venzóleo
1925 Loyola Venzóleo
1924 Centro Atlético Vargas
1923 América Centro Atlético
1922 Centro Atlético América
1920-21 América Centro Atlético