FIFA Ballon d'Or Award (2010-2015)

The FIFA Ballon d'Or was a joint award between FIFA and France Football magazine that ran from 2010 to 2015. It was effectively a merger between France Football's prestigious Ballon d'Or award and FIFA's own individual FIFA World Player of the Year award.

In 2016 the two organisations decided to organise their own individual awards again, so the Ballon d'Or award reverted back to its original name, whilst FIFA rebranded its own award product and created The Best FIFA Men's Player as part of its wider The Best FIFA Football Awards.

Whilst only six awards may have been handed out in this format, it was a realy period of power for Lionel Messi as the Argentine superstar claimed four of the FIFA Ballon d'Or trophies and became the first player to win five Ballon d'Or awards.


Year Winner Nationality Club Points Runner-up Nationality Club Points Third Place Nationality Club Points
2015 Lionel Messi Argentina Barcelona 41% Cristiano Ronaldo Portugal Real Madrid 28% Neymar Brazil Barcelona 8%
2014 Cristiano Ronaldo Portugal Real Madrid 38% Lionel Messi Argentina Barcelona 16% Manuel Neuer Germany Bayern Munich 16%
2013 Cristiano Ronaldo Portugal Real Madrid 28% Lionel Messi Argentina Barcelona 25% Franck Ribéry France Bayern Munich 23%
2012 Lionel Messi Argentina Barcelona 42% Cristiano Ronaldo Portugal Real Madrid 24% Andrés Iniesta Spain Barcelona 11%
2011 Lionel Messi Argentina Barcelona 48% Cristiano Ronaldo Portugal Real Madrid 23% Xavi Spain Barcelona 9%
2010 Lionel Messi Argentina Barcelona 23% Andrés Iniesta Spain Barcelona 17% Xavi Spain Barcelona 16%