Golden Boy Award

The Golden Boy in an annual award for the best footballer under the age of 21 playing in a European football league.

The Golden Boy award was started in 2003 by the Italian sports newspaper Tuttosport but the voting panel has since been increased to include football journalists from more than ten newspapers across Europe.


Year Winner Club Nationality
2020 Erling Haaland Borussia Dortmund Norway
2019 João Félix Benfica, Atlético Madrid Portugal
2018 Matthijs de Ligt Ajax Netherlands