Capocannoniere Award

Of all the great Italian football phrases, Capocannoniere is one of our favourites. Translating as "chief gunner", it's the name of the award given to the highest scorer each season in Serie A.

It's the most sought after of football player awards in Italy, and when you look at the list of previous winners it's not hard to see why, with the likes of Maradona, Platini, Riva, van Basten, Batistuta and Shevchenko all having won it.. Milan legend Gunnar Nordahl has won the award more times than any other player. The Swedish forward's goals helped the Rossoneri to claim Serie A titles in 1951 and 1955 and he won the Capocannoniere in both those seasons, but he also won it in 1950, 1953 and 1954. Nordahl's five Capocannoniere awards is a record that could stand the test of time, as no other player has won it more than three times.


Season Capocannoniere Winner Goals Club Nationality
2018-19Fabio Quagliarella 26 Sampdoria Italy
2017-18Mauro Icardi 29 Inter Argentina
Ciro Immobile 29 Lazio Italy