Footballers who have won League Titles in Different Countries

The great Argentinian José Manuel Moreno became the first footballer to win league titles in four different countries, back in 1955. Having won five titles with River Plate in the 1930s and 1940s, he headed off to Mexico, Chile and finally Colombia, winning titles in all three leagues with RC España, Universidad Católica and Independiente Medellín respectively.

Since then, a number of players have joined Moreno with titles in four different countries, including Arjen Robben, Deco, Rivaldo, Mark van Bommel and Jirí Jarošík. Some went very close to a fifth - Rivaldo missing out on a title with Milan in 2004 having cancelled his contract with the Rossoneri earlier in the season. David Beckham just managed to join this exclusive group in 2013 after signing for Paris Saint-Germain as a free-agent in January, sneaking a winners medal after making ten Ligue 1 appearances as Paris Saint-Germain cruised to the title, twelve points ahead of Marseille.

There remains is a bit of confusion over Mateja Kežman and whether or not he actually won titles in five different countries. After winning in Yugoslavia with Partizan, the Netherlands with PSV Eindhoven, the English Premier League with Chelsea, and the Turkish Süper Lig with Fenerbahçe, he finished his career in 2011 with BATE Borisov. They won the Belarusian Premier League but Kežman only made six appearances, so it's unclear on whether he was officially given a winner's medal. He was also with Paris Saint-Germain for a couple of seasons but, unluckily for him, it was just before they started their dominance of Ligue 1.

Player Different Titles League Club
José Manuel Moreno 4 Argentina River Plate
Mexico RC España
Chile Universidad Católica
Colombia Independiente Medellín
Arjen Robben 4 Holland PSV Eindhoven
England Chelsea
Spain Real Madrid
Germany Bayern Munich
Mark van Bommel 4 Holland PSV Eindhoven
Spain Barcelona
Germany Bayern Munich
Italy Milan
Deco 4 Portugal Porto
Spain Barcelona
England Chelsea
Brazil Fluminese
Jirí Jarošík 4 Czech Republic Sparta Prague
Russia CSKA Moscow
England Chelsea
Scotland Celtic
Mateja Kežman 4 Yugoslavia Partizan
Holland PSV Eindhoven
England Chelsea
Turkey Fenerbahçe
Rivaldo 4 Brazil Palmeiras
Spain Barcelona
Greece Olympacos
Uzbekistan Bunyodkor
David Beckham 4 England Manchester United
Spain Real Madrid
USA LA Galaxy
France Paris Saint-Germain
Alfredo Di Stéfano 3 Argentina River Plate
Colombia Millonarios
Spain Real Madrid